Eco Post: Reusing Medicine Bottles

One of our cats has a medical condition that requires two different pills each day. The prescription is for 30 days so every month we end up with two small medicine bottles that are no longer needed.

I did speak to my vet but sadly they can’t reuse them so it just becomes waste. While our council does recycle plastic bottles, it is annoying that after just one month’s usage these items are just discarded.

I wanted to find some reuse ideas so that at least a few would get used more. The issue I had online was that a number of great ideas for pill bottles seemed to rely on the cylindrical ones whereas the pill bottles we have are the squarish ones that have (what I call) “shoulders”

(IMAGE COMING)

This ‘shoulder’ meant that several of the ideas just didn’t work well because some items would get stuck inside.

So instead these are the ideas to reuse these types of bottles:

SAFETY PINS

This tip was on a youtube comment and I love it! Put safety pins in one of the bottles and keep near your laundry hamper. Then pin matching socks together so you don’t have to match them up later when they come out of the machine.

BOBBY PINS

I have long hair that seems to frizz up around my face with these wispy hairs so I am always reaching for bobby pins. Since it’s pretty frustrating digging through your bag looking for these as they always drop to the bottom, I have stored a set in one of these bottles. Easy to find, easy to fill. Great

COTTON BUDS/Q-TIPS

For the pill bottles that had a slightly larger opening (many of mine don’t) I stored cotton buds. Cut cotton buds in half and put a few in a pill bottle. I actually have two bottles for these, one I keep in my handbag with me and the other in my Animal Rescue Kit in the car.

DRAWING PINS

Again other for the pill bottles with the wider mouth. I now keep some drawing pins hanging on my corkboard for when I need them. I don’t store unused pins in the corkboard as I have brushed against it too often that casts pins onto the floor. the ones holding up papers always stay stuck in the papers if they fall, the loose ones – hide!

SMALL SCREWS/TACKS

For the smaller screws, tacks and bolts I am now keeping them in these bottles because they just get lost amid the larger pieces within the toolkit.

SEEDS

I do try and collect seeds from some of my plants and some of the really tiny ones can be stored nicely in these jars. In fact the smaller opening helps to control the spill of seeds when it comes to me tipping them out

 

Now, for all those of you with better shaped pill bottles, here’s a few more ideas:

FUSES – Keep your spare fuses stored neatly

MONEY – If you have a pill bottle that is big enough to hold some loose change, fill it up and keep it in your car for things like tolls, parking fees etc. Or put in some rolled up notes and stash it somewhere as “emergency money”

MINI SEWING KIT – You just need a small piece of card, wrap some thread around it in colours you may need (black, brown, white, red, navy) then thread a needle between the threads to keep it safe. Add a few small buttons and maybe a safety pin or two. That way if you loose a button or bust a seam you have what you need to fix it. Keep one in your car, one in your bag, one in your desk at work.

BATTERIES – If you have a torch in your car you shouldn’t store it with the batteries inside because even switched off the power of the batteries will slowly be leached out. So (providing your torch takes batteries small enough to fit) keep them in a pill bottle keep in your car

MINI FIRST AID KIT – Few band-aids, tweezers, a few painkillers and you have a travel size first aid kit

 

IMPORTANT NOTE

  • Always fully clean and sterilise a bottle before use
  • See if any charities can use them
  • See if your local council/city can recycle them
  • See if your local schools / play groups can use them in crafts
  • To remove labels fill with hot water and wait, the label then peels right out

 

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Eco Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

