Eco-Craft: Making bookcase mini shelves

20160129_170614I have a large book collection because I love to read. They all sit in a 5 x 5 cube unit which can hold loads.

However many of my books are the usual size which means that there is a lot of dead space as you can see.

This had been bugging me after we managed to completely fill the unit….but there are more books I want! :p

I couldn’t find anything that would fit my needs without spending stupid amounts of money so I decided to make my own “half shelves” to double my space.

This project has been knocking around my head for a while, I decided to use cardboard and toilet tubes so have been waiting until we had saved enough. (I am aware of the irony that I spent ages nagging my partner to remember to recycle toilet tubes when they were empty…only to now tell him, “don’t throw that in the recycling bin, I need it”)

20160129_090717

20160129_091401

Today I finally had the time and all the items to make start the project. A large sturdy box, mass of empty toilet tubes, the (world’s worst) Stanley knife, packing tape, tape measure and glue.

First I measured the space to figure out what size shelf I needed. The shelves ended up being 17cm wide by 33cm deep.

20160129_091103I measured out the shelf and then found that my Stanley knife had a broken tip and no blades… *sigh*

So I had to kind of hack at the cardboard (because it was too thick for my scissors!)

And bam! here is my (naff) shelf.

Now since I’m one of those people who constantly get card-cuts from cardboard, I decided to reduce my risk and edge it in packing tape. (Yeah, I should say normally I am a little more precise when it comes to craft projects but I was having a bleh day and I just wanted them made.)

20160129_095611Next I got my glue gun to stick a mass of toilet tubes onto the card. However it refused to cooperate so I turned to my squashed UHU glue tube. It was squashed during postage and now every lid removal is a goopy explosion and you have to be REALLY quick otherwise it gets everywhere.

So I (slip-shoddly) glued a load of toilet tubes to the shelf and to each other for a stronger shelf. This was the first one I made, by the second I realised I only needed 8 toilet tubes (maybe even less but I wanted some extra strength) and they didn’t have to be glued together.

20160129_170709After they were glued I put a heavy book on top of the tubes to hold them down and left them to dry for about 45 mins…. mainly because I kept forgetting about them.

(Also, forgot to photograph the first) so here is a picture of the 2nd one, all snug in the unit. Yay.

Now to test it.

 

20160129_170832

 

20160129_170920

Tada!!! Okay, since the front books over the half shelf I have no interest in making it more “decorative” this was for function and I am totally happy with it.

20160129_170934

Look how much better that is. I can see all the titles and it doesn’t take much to move one book out of the way to reach on at the back. 6 cube spaces reduced to 3….so now I can get more books!

There is about another 4 cube shelves I can do this too (the others have large books on them) but I will also do this for my DVDs too.

)O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O( ~ )O(

Okay, you may have noticed that after saying I was going to be blogging more… I didn’t. I think I need to make things more efficient so rather than Wednesdays, I am going to blog on Fridays at 20:00 (BST) that way I am updating this blog and my other at the same time.

If you enjoyed this Reuse article and if you have done your own reusing projects do let me know!  Please consider following this blog or dropping me a comment to say hi.

Blessings

BK

=^.^=

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Crafty-ness, Eco Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

