No more pottering with Pottery

Pottery3Well my newly-revamped shop is back up and running Etsy. For those who haven’t take a gander, check it out ~ BlaqKat Etsy Shop

However one of my categories was Pottery pieces. I took up pottery about 2 years ago when my partner and I realised our life had fallen into a rut and needed something to get us out of the house.

We found a great little pottery studio, with a teacher who taught us the basics and then just let us run wild.

I used the Pottery Class as a perfect quiet time. It was 2 hours a week were we just went and just found peace. It was a great place to unwind.

Pottery4Sadly, the Pottery Studio is closing for a year (maybe more) as the lady who runs it is taking time to be with her new baby :). When it does reopen it will be in a different location as the buildings owner wants to take the place back. So I thought I’d take some pictures of it before I left.

Most pottery places near me only seem to be open during the day in the middle of the week, which is when I work so I can’t attend.

Though to be honest, I don’t think I would have found the same atmosphere I got from the one I used to visit.

I have enjoyed my time there. Here are a few things I have made throughout the time

Herd of rainbow unicorns

Herd of rainbow unicorns

These mini little rainbow unicorns were so much fun to make.

If you like these little unicorns, they are for sale on my Etsy shop. Though I only have one of each colour. Check them out in my Pottery Section

Dragon2

This guy was one of the first things I decided to make that went beyond the simple. He took the full two hours to sculpt, a lot of swearing and grumbling. He is hollow inside and has a large opening underneath.

This is so an incense cone can be put inside him and the smoke will come out of his mouth. It works well though not for long before I didn’t include any heat-holes so it gets REALLY hot.

Oh well, when the studio reopens I may have to create a new design of this. But I love him, he is so heavy and sturdy.

Castle2 I also made tealight castles. These were fun as the candle light shone through all the windows and looked great in the dark.

I progressed the idea and added a dragon… because I love dragons!

He was a bit of a nightmare to make and even more so to glaze because glaze is not like paint and can really run and affect your piece.

I had to use a really tiny brush for his toes and his edges where he touches the castle.

divination kit, rune set, pottery runes

This was one of a number of divination kits I made, both Futhark Runes and Witches Runes. The glazes sometimes reacted badly to other items in the kiln and so there were some that just didn’t look good. But this was one of my favourite sets.

It was listed in my shop and sold which was nice. I love it when people enjoy my items. This was one of my favourite glazes. It is a crystal glaze so there are these little crystals in the glaze and they burst in the kiln giving all these awesome colours and markings.

witchesI also made some little witches! I was hoping to make several more of these but got caught up with other ideas so I only have these two.

They are going to end up on my shop but I need to re-create the photos.

dinoBy the end I was spending more time on  smaller pieces, like this set of dinosaurs that I made for myself because I really love dinosaurs and they were so easy to make.

I even had a commission to make another little stegasaurus.

I have quite a few mini animal sculptures and some bowls left, that will be added to my shop over time.

pottery1However it does means that all the current pottery pieces I have will not be refreshed once they have been purchased. I have more to add but I can no longer make any custom pieces or recreate anything that sells.

At least not until the pottery studio starts back up.

Thanks to all my customers who purchased my pottery pieces. I really enjoyed creating them and love that they have been given homes.

On to the next adventure…. which is going to be archery!! 🙂

Blessings

BK

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Crafty-ness, Pottery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

