Once in a Blue Moon

Blue moon and night sky abstract background

It was a Blue Moon yesterday. For those who don’t know, the moon does not actually turn blue (wouldn’t that be nice if it did!). Instead the Blue Moon refers to the rare occurrence of two full moons falling within one calendar moon.

Full moons are always powerful for Witches and Pagans but a Blue Moon is considered special. It is a time for looking at your future, your goals, your desires. Magick cast on a Blue Moon night is potent.

I don’t often cast spells these days, but I did take the time to cast a strong double-wish spell last night. One for my partner and one for me.

I had the perfect candle for the job, (no you DON’T have to use a blue candle on a blue moon! don’t know who started that idea). My candle was a black and white zebra striped pillar candle – perfect as the black represents the feminine for my spell and the white the masculine for M’s spell.

My bolline was used to carve the spells into the candle.

I did not cast a circle as I’ve never felt comfortable using the power of a circle for wish spells. Just ground and centre was enough to focus my will and cast.

The candle burned for a while last night and has burned through today. It will be lit on and off until it is done.

May all your Blue Moon spells bear fruit. 🙂

 

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

