Gaia’s Blood

I’ve been a while since I wrote for The Pagan Experience, stuff got in the way again. I do sometimes feel I need to stand around, broom in hand beating all this random “stuff” that dares to creep in and steal my time, my energy and my focus.

This week’s topic is Water.

Element - Water

Being both a Pisces and a HSP I feel I am heavily connected to Water. It is my element, it is the representation of emotion and change. Like emotion it can both comfort and overwhelm.

Water is the shape shifter, it moulds to the vessel to which it is poured. Heated it rises as vapour, chilled it hardens to ice. It falls gently as snow and hits hard as hail.

Water is abundant and yet also rare. Over 70% of the Earth’s surface is water and yet it is a finite source. Most of our body is water, most of our brain is water. Too little and we suffer and perish, too much and we suffer and perish.

Water is precious and so should be honoured, cherished. It should be used with care not reckless abandon. All life needs water and all life should have access to water.

It should be conserved, kept clean, protected.

As a conversationalist, I am careful what I put into water using non-toxic substances that do not pollute water. I collect rainwater for my garden for when the summer comes.

I feel at my most cleansed when standing outside in a rainstorm. Soaked through to the bone and shaking from a mix of heat from within and cold from without.

It is the element that melds with all others. It rises in the air to fall as rain. It cuts a path through the earth to run as rivers. It is warmed by fire but can smother, dampen and extinguish.

Water is Gaia’s blood.

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Monday Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

