Preparing for Yule & winter

This might be the first year in…well years… where I can actually find time to prepare for the holiday season in (almost) all areas of my life. The last few years have been pretty tough at times, but things are much smoother now.

BlaqKat Creations

I have actually got up to 70 items in my shop now and following the success of October, November is turning out pretty well also. I have got stock organised, packaging is stock-piled, custom forms and padded envelopes ready, and I have just been adding my Last Date for Shipping notices to my announcement and in each listing in one of the photo options.  The only thing I haven’t had time for is making ALL the new items I had hoped. But I will do that over the holiday period ready for the January sales.

Yuletide

This year my partner and I have decided to try and do more for Yule. Decorations in the last few years have been rushed, usually less than a week before the Solstice and without much thought. This year we are planning our decs, have even got a tree (we never have a tree… not with 4 cats to worry about) but if it get pulled over we will just have to pick it up and start again!!

We have a yuletide meal planned, I am even on track with present buying. Something I used to be organsied with but lost the knack.

Fitness

While I never made any resolutions on Samhain, I have been aware that I need to get off my ass (I drive to work, I sit all day, I drive home, I sit at the computer, I sit on the sofa… see the pattern?) because this much sitting is horrendously bad for your health. So I treated myself to a mini step machine – used to have one years ago and found it did wonders for my writers block. So hopefully I can use it daily, get some exercise and maybe kickstart my muse.

Wildlife & Garden

I am ready with bubble wrap to wrap up my two wormeries ready for the cold weather and any of my pot plants that don’t take frost well. Leaves have been swept from the drive and put under the trees and hedges to act as a frost barrier and a shelter for little animals.

Bird food has been bought in bulk and I purchased a new large bird bath that sits off the ground so they don’t have to fear the cats that prowl our garden.

Car

Serviced, new tyres and I will be getting the “winter kit” out and into the car ready for possible horrid driving conditions.

So… all in all, much more on track than normal.

Now all I need is to find time to blog a bit more and I’ll be peachy!

Blessings

BK

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

