F is for Fear and Faith

Well, I’m nicely behind with the Pagan Blog Project so I’m going to try and chug through the next few over this weekend.

Having watched some recent news articles and read comments about them, I see fear has become a very common bedfellow with many people. It is understandable, after all almost all media spends its time portraying the very worst of humanity. Isn’t that what sells newspapers?

Add to that the charity campaigns who fill our emails with horrifying stories of human rights abuses, animal abuse, devastation to the natural world.

We are surrounded by the very worst and so we fear. We look on strangers with suspicion, believe every new cough is come new breed of bird flu and check and recheck our home locks for some sense of security.

Yes there are bad people in the world, there is cruelty and if you want to use the word “evil” then that’s there too.

But it isn’t the only thing.

When I was going through a rough time a few years ago everything I read broke my heart. The stories of what was happening to our natural world all for greed and profit filled me with pain. The stories of what humans did to each other because of our differences – religion, creed, colour, gender, sexuality or just because someone dressed differently made me withdraw. The stories of what people did to their pets, their children, their parents…

It was an endless spiral of suffering and I was not even the one going through what I read, merely feeling it empathically.

It was only when someone else was telling me about some horrible thing and I heard them say how the “world was going to hell” that I thought, wait that’s not right.

Yes there are things in this world to fear – awful things. But then what about all the people fighting FOR things.

The rainforest (for example) in Indonesia is being razed for palm oil. Animals and people are being driven out, threatened and killed. But there are people fighting to stop it, communities, campaigns, people all over the world uniting to stop it.

There are people being oppressed, beaten, raped in some countries and no one is being held accountable. But what about the organisations who are bringing these cruelties to peoples’ attention. Shining a light on this brutality so that others can sit up and say “No, this has to stop”.

For every horrible thing that happens, there are good people striving to stop it from happening again. There are people fighting to give those victims a voice, to make safe havens and push for legislation.

We can be those people, make those differences, those changes, fight for the rights of others as well as our selves. Protect our world and all those creatures that live with us.

“I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something I can do.” ~Unknown

So have faith, the world is not so dark, so cold. If you need a little cheer, I hope you find these videos a little uplifting.

 

 

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
Video | This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

