Recycling – CDs / DVDs & their cases

This will be a resource post and will be linked to in my Protecting Gaia page.

Following a need to “declutter” we decided to get rid of all our CDs, the main reason is we have all our music stored digitally and rarely ever reach for a CD. So these were just clogging up valuable space and collecting more than their share of dust bunnies.

RE-USE
Rather than jump straight to recycling, I first got all our music CDs together and went on Ziffit.com a UK company that will buy unwanted CDs. I also used Zapper.com and compared the two, sometimes one would give a higher amount than the other.

This was a little time consuming but I ended up with 3 boxes, 2 for Ziffit and 1 for Zapper. All giving me a nice amount of cash when they receive these boxes of CDs. PS: I don’t use MusicMagpie as I found they either accepted very few of my CDs or their prices were way too low compared to the others (but it does pay to shop around).

Both Zapper and Ziffit recycle CDs if they are not sellable when they receive them. Another plus.

So these were boxed up (any cracked boxes were replaced first).

REDISTRIBUTE
Now I’m left with a stack of CDs that I don’t want but wouldn’t sell. Those that are music CDs I put onto Freecycle.org andpeople who wanted them came to collect them.

RECYCLE
Okay, now I have a load of “free CDs”, or data CDs that are either old versions or broken/corrupted that I no longer need. Most Household Recycling Centres don’t take these. Mine certainly doesn’t. The jewel cases could go into rigid plastics at the HRC, but that does leave the discs.

I found a few companies who will recycle 100% of the CDs and DVDs (including cases!) free of charge. However you have to pay the postage yourself – not too bad for doing your bit for the environment.

Environmental Media Solutions – They recycle CDs, DVDs, cases and even old VHS videos. They accept a maximum of 100 items per household free of charge, after that there is a 0.30p charge per item.

Polymer Reprocessors – This company can also recycle CDs, DVDs and cases (doesn’t mention VHS though). They use no chemicals in the pulping and reprocessing procedures.

CREATIVE REUSE
If you are creative and have some time, how about repurposing your unwanted CDs and DVDs. There are many crafty ideas. Here are a few.

While I have kept a number for craft projects I found I had too many so I was happy enough to recycle the rest of my unwanted CD/DVD media.

About theblaqkat

Pagan * Witch * Dreamer * Writer * Protector * Listener * Dancer * Gardener * Archer * Potter * Wisher * Maker
This entry was posted in Recycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

